Charge to Establish a University-Wide Energy Academic Collaboration Council

October 2017

BACKGROUND

On July 6, 2017, the university officially launched Ohio State's Comprehensive Energy Management Project. Our new partnership with Ohio State Energy Partners – OSEP, which is the joint venture between ENGIE North America and Axium Infrastructure – represents the largest single investment in Ohio State's academic mission and will help us reach our long-term sustainability goals for energy. In addition, we have a unique opportunity to create a substantial academic collaboration with OSEP that will provide additional benefits to our faculty, staff and students.

To maximize the leverage and integration of the \$150 million academic collaboration component of our partnership with OSEP, we are creating an Energy Academic Collaboration Council (EACC) to guide our efforts and meaningful campus engagement in this process. Members will serve two-year, renewable terms.

Four members of the EACC will also serve as Ohio State's initial members of the Visionary Project Advisory Committee (VPAC), a requirement of Ohio State's contract with OSEP. The VPAC will focus on developing the **Energy Advancement and Innovation Center** component of our academic collaboration.

THE CHARGE

The EACC will serve as our university Board of Advisors to attain a strong foundation for an integrated 50-year partnership with OSEP that advances the sustainability academic mission of Ohio State. The EACC will ensure that we maximize and enhance the value of this unique relationship with broad, university-wide interaction and that we continually bring new ideas and elements into the partnership as our respective institutions evolve.

The EACC will invite additional Ohio State faculty, students and staff, as needed, to focus on specific aspects of our academic collaboration. In addition, the EACC is charged with ensuring meaningful community engagement in this partnership. Further, the EACC will coordinate with the **President and Provost's Council on Sustainability**, which will serve as the advisory body for the \$15 million endowment to enhance our sustainability efforts outside of the scope of the contract with OSEP.

TIMING

Kate Bartter, Director of the Office of Energy and Environment, and Randy Moses, Senior Associate Vice President for Research, will co-facilitate the EACC. The EACC will work closely with the leaders of OSEP to deliver its first list of recommendations to the Executive Vice President and Provost by December 1, 2017. The Council will provide quarterly progress reports to the provost thereafter.

The VPAC will operate in accordance with the contract between Ohio State and OSEP.



ENERGY ACADEMIC COLLABORATION COUNCIL

- Sara Adelman, President, Interprofessional Council
- Anil Arya, John G. Gerlach Chair in Accounting and MIS, FCOB
- Kate Bartter, Director, Office of Energy and Environment, OAA
- Jeff Bielicki, Assistant Professor, COE and JGCPA
- Kate Calder, Faculty Council and Professor, Statistics, ASC
- Molly Calhoun, Associate Vice President, Student Life
- Kip Curtis, Assistant Professor, Environmental History, Regional Campus, ASC
- Prabir Dutta, Distinguished University Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry, ASC
- Elena Irwin, Faculty Director, SRE; Professor, CFAES; VPAC designee
- Cathann Kress, VP of Agricultural Administration, Dean of CFAES
- Randy Moses, Senior AVP, Research Administration; VPAC Chair designee
- Keith Myers, Senior AVP of Physical Planning, A&P, VPAC designee
- Mike Papadakis, Deputy CFO, Treasurer, VP Financial Services & Innovation, B&F
- Rilee Peebles, Undergraduate Student Government Sustainability Committee
- Giorgio Rizzoni, Director, CAR; Professor, Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering, COE
- Sara Rubin, Vice President for Principal Gifts, Advancement
- Jay Sayre, Director of Innovation, Institute for Materials Research, VPAC designee
- David Staley, Associate Professor, History, ASC
- Alex Wesaw, President, Council of Graduate Students
- David Williams, Executive Dean of the Professional Colleges; Dean of the College of Engineering

